Hey kids!

If you’re like me, then you know that planning for weekends in San Francisco is not easy. There are either too many things going on on a weekend and you have to pick and choose, or everyone is out of town and you’re stuck without something fun to do. Like this bored panda.

To address that problem, I’m trying something new today. I’m going to give you a list of fun events for the weekend that you can go and enjoy. I’ve read through the event newsletters like SF Fun Cheap and UpOut to find a few of the awesome events that I would love to do, and I’m sharing them with you. As you can see, I’m calling it the weekend forecast. And here it is!

weather 11.14.14

Looks like the weather is going to be pretty nice all weekend, with temperature in the high 60s and party cloudy skies. If you’re going to be outside, don’t forget to put on sunscreen!

Below are some ideas for this weekend (11/14-11/16). Unfortunately I will be out of town on a team retreat to Guerneville, but otherwise I would totally go to all of these events with you!

Key: Blue = Friday, Red = Saturday, Yellow = Sunday

Friday:

6:30 PM: Free beer and comedy show at Sports Basement Bryant Street (Potrero Hill)

Free is always a welcome word in my vocabulary. And of the things you can get for free, what’s better than free beer?!

Grotto Free Comedy Night: Free Drinks & Snacks | Sports Basement Bryant

I can’t believe I haven’t heard of this event before. The Sports Basement Bryant Street store hosts the Good Times in the Grotto comedy night on (most) second Fridays of the month from 6:30-8:30 pm.

In addition to some free laughs, they also serve up free drinks and free snacks. Sounds like a good way to unwind after a day of work!

8:00 PM: Free burlesque show at Skylark (Mission)

The group performing is called Hunny Bunny and Her Hot Toddies. Don’t they just sound fun?

I just went to a burlesque show in Oakland last week and I had an awesome time. It’s definitely not just stripping. I would call it more musical theater with very little clothing. If you haven’t been to a burlesque show before, why not try it out this Friday?

Saturday:

2:00 PM: Free skating lessons at Church of 8 Wheels (Hayes Valley)

This has been one of those things on my to do lists for the longest time. I used to be big into rollerblading in middle school and I even brought them with me from NYC!

The lesson is free, but skate rentals are $5

3:00 PM: Picnic in Alamo Square Park (Alamo Square duh!)

Grab a couple of friends, a blanket, and a 6-pack and chill in the park for a few hours.

Most people tend to hangout in the sunny South side of the park, but if it gets too hot, go to the Northeastern corner of the park where the grass is green and the shade is cool.

9:00 PM: Non-stop Bhangra dance lesson & party at Public Works (Mission)

I actually did some Bhangra dancing in college and I was pretty bad at it. I really want to take the lesson and go dancing. But what is non-stop Bhangra?

Public Works is a pretty fun event space, but it does tend to get packed on busy nights. I suggest going there on the earlier side and grab a table if you can.

Buy tix here ($15).

Sunday:

1:00 PM: The Now Festival

This is such an awesome event and I’m really sad to be missing it. The Now Festival is a series of events that will take over the Panhandle this Sunday afternoon. I’m most excited by the silent disco. I haven’t been to one before, but I imagine it to be a very trippy experience.

The Now Festival events:

  • Silent disco
  • Story forest: Write a story and hang it up, read other people’s stories
  • Slackline workshop
  • Face-painting face-off
  • Church of 8 Wheels roller disco
  • Live jazz
The last word:

That’s it for the first edition of the weekend forecast. I hope you all stay safe and party hard. Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment